Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Irrational behaviour and incomprehensible decisions 101 - this is the place. If they're really silly, you could win a chocolate fish.* (* Highly unlikely and they're only virtual chocolate fish)

User avatar
digidog
Site Admin
Posts: 15014
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 2:25 am
First Name: Alfie
Location: Otago
Contact:

Post by digidog » Tue Oct 06, 2009 12:31 am

TM's photoserver seems to be limping along like a dead cat today.

User avatar
marika3
Scambuster
Posts: 4290
Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 7:06 am
Location: Auckland
Contact:

Post by marika3 » Wed Oct 21, 2009 12:46 pm

Oops, there was a slip up!

Something went wrong (banana error 500). Please go back and try again, or use the browse links below.

If you continue to experience problems, please contact us.
Several times between 1:30 am and 1:45 am.
http://www.oneway.co.nz/member/marika3

User avatar
digidog
Site Admin
Posts: 15014
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 2:25 am
First Name: Alfie
Location: Otago
Contact:

Post by digidog » Wed Oct 21, 2009 7:23 pm

I got the same message just after 8am this morning.

ionet
Members
Posts: 2160
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:33 pm
Location: Hawkes Bay

Post by ionet » Thu Nov 05, 2009 10:27 pm

_


Ooops TM has slipped on a banana skin ;-)


there must have been quite a few discarded from Kev's feast for all the links to show us a banana..

Oops, there was a slip up!


Something went wrong (banana error 500).


Please go back and try again, or use the browse links below.


M
Ultimate Auction Security: Kick 'em in the pants & sweep them under the carpet fast before anyone sees & hope they go away.

User avatar
digidog
Site Admin
Posts: 15014
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 2:25 am
First Name: Alfie
Location: Otago
Contact:

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by digidog » Thu Mar 25, 2010 10:37 pm

One of New Zealand's most viewed websites, TradeMe, is back online after a
brief outage this morning.

TradeMe spokesman Paul Ford said it was not yet known what had caused the
crash, with the website going down around 10.45am. It was back online at
around 11.10am.

http://www.stuff.co.nz/technology/digit ... ter-outage" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Foggyone
Site Admin
Posts: 9880
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 8:16 pm
First Name: Peter
Location: Lower Hutt
Contact:

Probably......................

Post by Foggyone » Thu Mar 25, 2010 11:27 pm

..........a Windows "feature". aspx is asp.net, one of MS many proprietory formats.
Google, the answer to so many questions!
-----------------------------------------------------

User avatar
digidog
Site Admin
Posts: 15014
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 2:25 am
First Name: Alfie
Location: Otago
Contact:

Post by digidog » Fri Apr 23, 2010 3:45 am

Firefox can't find the server at http://www.trademe.co.nz" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Googlybear
Members
Posts: 2108
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Auckland

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by Googlybear » Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:11 pm

Hi there,

Due to a processing error, Pay Now payments were not made last night as scheduled. These payments will now be made tonight (Thursday 24th June).

We endeavour to make payments on the following business day, but unfortunately this is not always possible. We recommend you allow up to three business days for processing of payments.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused. Please contact us if you would like more information.

Regards,


Trade Me Support

User avatar
Googlybear
Members
Posts: 2108
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Auckland

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by Googlybear » Mon Jul 05, 2010 9:27 am

Sales Summary error
Written by Trade Me staff in Site status at 10:02 am, Mon 5 Jul

If you've sold an item in the last week you might be seeing something weird going on in your Sales Summary (which you can access through My Trade Me).

We understand several people are seeing an extra column in their summary which sets out 27 items that they will not have sold.

First of all, we're sorry this has gone awry.

Second, we have worked out where the issue is and we have a bunch of people in a cold sweat working to fix it. We are aiming to have it sorted out later today.

UPDATE 5:55pm: The fix for this problem will be rolled out tomorrow morning. Apologies for not getting it sorted today.
The `extra column` was actually sales made under the sellers daily deals auction. seems many users received this, not just the sellers who participated

That column is now gone from my sales summary and replaced with
Reserve met 14
Buy Now 0
Fixed Price Offer 3
Total sold 17
Value of sales $0
Sell-through rate 1.8%
Apparently i have sold 17 items with a grand total of $0 when i actually sold over 100 items
Will have to wait until tomorrow to see if they fully fixed their latest stuff-up

User avatar
Googlybear
Members
Posts: 2108
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Auckland

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by Googlybear » Mon Jul 05, 2010 9:48 am

TM seem to having another day. Trying to add auctions to my watchlist produces
Trade Me
Oops, there was a slip up!

Something went wrong (banana error 500). Please go back and try again, or use the browse links below.

angry
Members
Posts: 550
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: auckland

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by angry » Mon Jul 05, 2010 12:04 pm

Googlybear wrote:TM seem to having another day. Trying to add auctions to my watchlist produces
Trade Me
Oops, there was a slip up!

Something went wrong (banana error 500). Please go back and try again, or use the browse links below.
still hapening at the moment, but it seems to add anyway if you return to previous page with the go back feature, may also be another indirect Microwrought attack on firefox. :twisted:

User avatar
Googlybear
Members
Posts: 2108
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Auckland

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by Googlybear » Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:41 pm

for over a many months now i regularly receive this when i try and export my sold items

http://www.trademe.co.nz/MyTradeMe/Expo ... port%C2%A0" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Oops, there was a slip up!

Something went wrong (banana error 500). Please go back and try again, or use the browse links below.
a second try is usually successful

User avatar
dobby
Members
Posts: 3336
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 7:48 am
First Name: Dobby
Location: Wellington

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by dobby » Fri Jul 30, 2010 3:27 am

Googlybear wrote:for over a many months now i regularly receive this when i try and export my sold items

http://www.trademe.co.nz/MyTradeMe/Expo ... port%C2%A0" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Oops, there was a slip up!

Something went wrong (banana error 500). Please go back and try again, or use the browse links below.
a second try is usually successful
Works first time for me. I consistently get this when searching for a particular member's posts on the MB though, which usually works second time.
Idealism increases in direct proportion to your distance from the problem.

User avatar
marika3
Scambuster
Posts: 4290
Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 7:06 am
Location: Auckland
Contact:

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by marika3 » Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:31 pm

Right now, none of TM photos show in the listings.
When clicking "View full size photo", black popup window appears and browser tries to contact secure-nz.imnworldwide.com
Then message "Sorry an error has occured in the loading of this photo" shows in the popup.
Somebody knows what that means? I always thought that TM's servers are local.
http://www.oneway.co.nz/member/marika3

User avatar
Googlybear
Members
Posts: 2108
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Auckland

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by Googlybear » Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:48 pm

The photos appear OK with me at the moment.
is it with all areas of the TM site?.
sometimes auction loading programs such as auctionits mangle the URL of the photo when they load the auction which can cause the problems your experiencing.
try right clicking the image and select Properties. it then lists the URL which can be posted

The imnworldwide.com site is for Nielsen NetRatings

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests