Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Irrational behaviour and incomprehensible decisions 101 - this is the place. If they're really silly, you could win a chocolate fish.* (* Highly unlikely and they're only virtual chocolate fish)

User avatar
Googlybear
Members
Posts: 2108
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Auckland

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by Googlybear » Thu Jul 26, 2012 4:32 pm

oppps, another stupid My Products bug.

if you attempt to edit an auction from the `My products` page and then click the change category link to update the auctions category, The normal category selection page loads up with the various list boxes but only the first sub catagory box is populated

Image

No mater how many times you click on the category i can`t get the the other boxes to fill with the third and forth sub category.

if i select the baby gear category, i don`t get any sub category boxes filled

Image

using your browsers refresh/reload page function then causes the categories boxes to load correctly but not every TM user would know to try that.

User avatar
Googlybear
Members
Posts: 2108
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Auckland

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by Googlybear » Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:15 pm

The latest stuff up

Auto Payment Instructions not going out - heads up
http://www.trademe.co.nz/Community/Mess ... 6&topic=10" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Just a heads up - if you have your sellers payment instructions set to go out automatically after an auction closes - it's not working right now.

Techs are working on it - in the meantime you need to do it manually from your sold items.
Thanks TM, im now getting dozens of emails a day from traders having to ask for payment instructions.

User avatar
Googlybear
Members
Posts: 2108
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Auckland

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by Googlybear » Wed Aug 01, 2012 7:08 pm

TM have stuffed up the expired auction search page AGAIN.

When you click on the `more options` link next to the search box, no matter what category you are currently in, once again the expired search category is defaulting to `All categories` and the search field is blank

User avatar
marika3
Scambuster
Posts: 4290
Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 7:06 am
Location: Auckland
Contact:

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by marika3 » Mon Aug 20, 2012 7:36 pm

Another screwup mentioned on MB yesterday.
Search results sorted by lowest price. Note 50c red flags with no bids placed.

Image

And when you get into such listing, it's not 50c S=R one, but MultiBuy $8.00 per item:

Image
http://www.oneway.co.nz/member/marika3

User avatar
Googlybear
Members
Posts: 2108
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Auckland

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by Googlybear » Tue Aug 21, 2012 3:46 pm

There`s Another stuff up in the Vehicle categories, This time the Car Search Function

Image

User avatar
Googlybear
Members
Posts: 2108
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Auckland

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by Googlybear » Fri Sep 07, 2012 5:44 am

Googlybear wrote:TM have stuffed up the expired auction search page AGAIN.

When you click on the `more options` link next to the search box, no matter what category you are currently in, once again the expired search category is defaulting to `All categories` and the search field is blank
http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/Advance ... rchregion=" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

TM have finally fixed the Expired search function after breaking it for the second time.
Wow, that only took them a month :roll:

User avatar
Googlybear
Members
Posts: 2108
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Auckland

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by Googlybear » Thu Nov 22, 2012 7:48 am


We have had an issue with our auto-billing process which meant that we didn't charge your credit card for the amount owing on your account in the wee hours of this morning as planned.

However, we will be manually running the auto-billing process as soon as possible. Therefore, you don't have to do anything other than hold tight - we'll be in touch with an update if this issue is not fixed by tomorrow.

Apologies for any inconvenience.

Regards,

The Trade Me team
http://www.trademe.co.nz" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
That`s the second time that`s happened just in the last month

User avatar
marika3
Scambuster
Posts: 4290
Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 7:06 am
Location: Auckland
Contact:

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by marika3 » Sat Mar 02, 2013 12:21 pm

In a huge array of TM glitches in the past week, one made me puzzled:

Image

I had to reduce font in browser to show you large white space on somebody's feedback page. It's about two normal screens to scroll down and with "quick and easy trade" comment, nothing special.
You can check yourself here: http://www.trademe.co.nz/Members/Feedba ... pe=&page=5" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://www.oneway.co.nz/member/marika3

User avatar
Foggyone
Site Admin
Posts: 9880
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 8:16 pm
First Name: Peter
Location: Lower Hutt
Contact:

Are You Sick Of....

Post by Foggyone » Sat Mar 02, 2013 8:33 pm

Wasted "screen real estate"?

Trademe shows as a reduced screen. To fix

1.Using Firefox, install Stylish 1.3.1
2. Visit http://userstyles.org/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
3. Type Trademe.co.nz in the search box
4. On the resulting page scroll down to "Trademe Wide Screen"
5. Click the style name
6. On the new page click "Install" and confirm on the pop up

Your page should now look as you wish. To revert in Firefox go Tools/Add ons/User Styles and disable or remove.

Lots of other sites/pages available here. Or write your own. I assume it tweaks the page CSS file.
Google, the answer to so many questions!
-----------------------------------------------------

User avatar
marika3
Scambuster
Posts: 4290
Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 7:06 am
Location: Auckland
Contact:

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by marika3 » Sun Mar 03, 2013 1:20 am

My TradeMe pages are not reduced, they occupy the whole screen.
I just reduced font size in browser ("Ctrl -" several times) to fit this huge blank space on somebody's feedback into single screen.
That's what puzzles me - huge blank space inside the feedback.
http://www.oneway.co.nz/member/marika3

User avatar
digidog
Site Admin
Posts: 15014
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 2:25 am
First Name: Alfie
Location: Otago
Contact:

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by digidog » Sun Mar 03, 2013 3:54 am

I noticed the same thing on another trader's feedback last week. It could be something as silly as one particular character causing the problem, but it's annoying and it's certainly a glitch that TM need to sort out.

User avatar
digidog
Site Admin
Posts: 15014
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 2:25 am
First Name: Alfie
Location: Otago
Contact:

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by digidog » Mon Apr 08, 2013 10:00 pm

This is a new one on me.

Image

ionet
Members
Posts: 2160
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:33 pm
Location: Hawkes Bay

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by ionet » Tue Oct 08, 2013 11:38 pm

Trade Me is currently out of action.
We apologise for the inconvenience.
We'll have the site back up and running soon.


Looks like quite a long outage today in the lunchtime :shock:


M


.
Ultimate Auction Security: Kick 'em in the pants & sweep them under the carpet fast before anyone sees & hope they go away.

User avatar
digidog
Site Admin
Posts: 15014
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 2:25 am
First Name: Alfie
Location: Otago
Contact:

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by digidog » Tue Oct 08, 2013 11:54 pm

TM has been crawling along all morning. However their latest message is very pretty. ;-)

Image

User avatar
digidog
Site Admin
Posts: 15014
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 2:25 am
First Name: Alfie
Location: Otago
Contact:

Re: Trademe - major outages & other screwups

Post by digidog » Thu Oct 10, 2013 10:32 pm

NBR has more details of Wednesday's major TradeMe outage.
Trade Me has industrial-stength precautions against its web hosting falling over. The site is mirrored on separate server farms in Auckland and Wellington for fully redundant fail-over. But the current situation appears to be more complicated.

"The issue is to do with the way our data is synchronised inside Trade Me," Mr Ford says.

"Obviously we‘re sorry for any inconvenience for our members and we will get it sorted as soon as possible. We will be extending listings that have been affected to minimise hassles for our members. We hope to be back up and running again soon.

http://www.nbr.co.nz/article/trade-me-h ... -ck-146878" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests